Differences between EAV and "VirusTotal ESET" detection

John Dow
Go to solution Solved by Marcos,

I wonder why EAV blocks some URL's (with a Java Script warning or trojan) but those URL's, when checked thru VirusTotal, show that "ESET" find clean.

I am talking, for example, about these two (the first is a p*rn site)

https://watchmdh.to/
hxxp://depositfiles.com/

The ESET "engine" inside VirusTotal is different?

12 hours ago, Marcos said:

That's because on VirusTotal you check if a website is blacklisted by AV vendors while AVs scan the actual html code to determine if it's malicious.

That could be, however from 91 vendors none detected the sites as malicious.

Hard to be lieve that ESET is so special to be the only one detecting something......

1 hour ago, Marcos said:

There's an obfuscated JS on the website which is detected and is most likely responsible for pop-up advertisements:

image.png

I am not an expert, so I searched the internet:

"Obfuscation can be used to hide the business logic from outside world and also obfuscation will reduce the size of the file drastically so data transfer between server and client will be fast."

Also :

"A research that analyzed over 10,000 samples of diverse malicious software written in JavaScript concluded that roughly 26% of it is obfuscated to evade detection and analysis."

This doesn't mean that every obfuscated JS is malicious.

An user getting this pop up will go to search on Virus Total , only to find ZERO detection , including from ESET.

So, what is the user supposed to do????

• Administrators
28 minutes ago, rotaru said:

This doesn't mean that every obfuscated JS is malicious.

I agree. There is probably no AV that detects every obfuscated JS, otherwise they would have tons of FPs.

Above I also wrote: ... is most likely responsible for pop-up advertisements

11 hours ago, Marcos said:

I agree. There is probably no AV that detects every obfuscated JS, otherwise they would have tons of FPs.