Malware Information

TomFace

I ran an in-depth EIS scan on my machine today which came back clean. I just did a scan with EEK (Emsisoft Emergency Kit) as I occasional do, and it found this:

C:\Users\(Computer name)|Downloads\ESETIRCBotANRCleaner.exe  detected: DeepScan:Generic.Malware.P!g.58CC067A (B) [krnl.xmd]

As I am not an expert in researching malware, can anyone please give me more information about this vermin (like it's purpose)? I do not visit risky websites and run a "clean" machine (or at least I try).

It was quarantined and cleaned by EEK.

Any information would be appreciated (and thanks in advance). 

Edited by TomFace

I didn't do an extensive search, but appears to show up on a lot on Eset distributor web sites

https://support.eset.de/kb2903/

https://www.eset.com/kh/download/utilities/detail/family/47/

https://www.eset.ie/ie/download/utilities/detail/family/47/

Edited by itman

• Most Valued Members

Smells like a false positive by EEK. Upload it to virustotal and see what it's detection rate is

Even Emsisoft state that anything with "Gen or Generic" in the wording, detected by their software has a possibility of being a FP.

• Most Valued Members
2 hours ago, TomFace said:

I ran an in-depth EIS scan on my machine today which came back clean. I just did a scan with EEK (Emsisoft Emergency Kit) as I occasional do, and it found this:

C:\Users\(Computer name)|Downloads\ESETIRCBotANRCleaner.exe  detected: DeepScan:Generic.Malware.P!g.58CC067A (B) [krnl.xmd]

As I am not an expert in researching malware, can anyone please give me more information about this vermin (like it's purpose)? I do not visit risky websites and run a "clean" machine (or at least I try).

It was quarantined and cleaned by EEK.

Any information would be appreciated (and thanks in advance). 

The fact eset is in the filename makes me also wonder if it is a false positive

• ESET Moderators

Hello,