Still scanning after 24 hours ?

aja

Hi all

I'm a newbie to ESET, although not to similar software on PCs.  I downloaded a trial version of Cyber Security to my MacBook Air a few days ago and it took 2-3 hours to scan my hard disk (85 Gb used on a 120Gb drive)

Yesterday I connected my external drive to run a backup, and Cyber Security asked if I wanted to scan that too.  I said yes ... and 24 hours later its still running??

The external drive is 500Gb, but with only 145Gb of data on it.  I'm using Time Machine for the backups so I know it will have multiple copies of my data but it still seems odd.

The other odd thing is that the 'progress bar' showed about 75% progress within the first few hours, but 24 hours later it still not progressed very far (note to ESET - a reported percentage would help).  The file names it is scanning are changing, so its not frozen, but I'm wondering if its in some kind of loop?

I'm running Yosemite 10.10.2, and Cyber Security is up to date - version 11127 (20150205) of the virus database.

Any thoughts out there?

Thanks, Alan

• Administrators

Perhaps you have a lot of large archives with many files inside which takes time to unpack and scan each file. The reason why the progress bar moves slower or seems to stuck at times is caused by various number of files in particular folders. Try running a scan with scanning of archives disabled.

• Most Valued Members

Hi Alan,

The 'quick answer' recommendation is to not scan your Time Machine drive, and to click 'No action' when you connect it to your Mac.