latest Firewall module for eset v7 now blocking tracert app

As above i have been using networking app, called ping plotter pro for several years, it combines a tracert and ICMP  as well as other protocols, as of 13:15 today following the downloading of a module update  the firewall  possibly being one of the modules that got updated, eset started blocking without any reason

The program would no longer display dns names and ip addresses from my router to the hop prior to the target IP , so rendering using the program useless

I tried to change the settings in IDS and with every tick box unselected it made no difference  turning off the firewall briefly allowed the program to work as it should , as did rolling back the update , but the problem with this is i can't get virus sigs updated , why do eset break what wasn't already broken?

04/11/2014 14:47:02    Communication denied by rule    ICMP    Apply ICMP filter        
04/11/2014 14:46:25    Communication denied by rule    ICMP    Apply ICMP filter        
04/11/2014 14:45:49    Communication denied by rule    ICMP    Apply ICMP filter        
04/11/2014 14:43:33    Communication denied by rule    ICMP    Apply ICMP filter        

04/11/2014 14:29:36    Packet blocked by active defense (IDS)       ICMP            
04/11/2014 14:29:36    Packet blocked by active defense (IDS)       ICMP            
04/11/2014 14:29:36    Packet blocked by active defense (IDS)       ICMP            

03/11/2014 12:15:19    Incorrect UDP packet checksum            0            
01/11/2014 17:05:56    Incorrect UDP packet checksum            0            
01/11/2014 11:48:09    Incorrect UDP packet checksum            0            
01/11/2014 11:47:43    Incorrect UDP packet checksum            0            
01/11/2014 11:47:31    Incorrect UDP packet checksum            0            
01/11/2014 09:49:53    Incorrect UDP packet checksum            0            

Just a few edited samples from the firewall log

• Administrators