Policy Updates Not Getting Applied

aaron8375

Hi all, I'm new to using ESET so this may very well just be due to being a novice, but heres my problem:

I installed ESET on my primary work PC, (which is a brilliant idea when testing out new software lol), and I quickly ran into a problem where I would make changes to the ESET policy but it didn't seem to want to apply to my computer right away.  It seems like it would only apply after a couple of reboots.  I'm more familiar with Kaspersky and never had any issues with editing policies and having them get applied quickly - but in ESET's Remote Administration page I can't figure out how to even tell if a specific computer has the latest policy update.  I can't find anywhere in the end computer's ESET GUI that confirms it is connected to ESET RA either which was always obvious in Kaspersky because it would add a message that the settings are configured via a policy.

This is making it difficult to test policy changes because I have no clue if the changes were applied to the end computer or not.  What is the best way to tell from a specific end computer/server that it is connected to ESET RA with the most up to date policy?  Is there a way to force policy updates to be applied to their assigned devices?

• Administrators

If a policy is applied, the settings set by the policy will appear locked (with a padlock icon) on clients.

You can also check in client details when the client has connected to the ERAS last time. With each connection, agent also downloads policies assigned to dynamic groups. If the agent determines that the computer fulfills conditions for a particular dynamic group, the policies assigned to the dynamic group will be applied.

I think I may have installed the agent incorrectly then because I'm not seeing the padlock on the GUI in the computers I have it installed, but according to ESET RA they are assigned to a policy.