New updated machines lost their product activation

Go to solution Solved by MichalJ,

Hello,

I used the client task (software install) in order to update from 7x version to 8.1.2031 version.

However, I didn't set it up correctly in the first place and forgot to setup the ESET license on this client task.

I got several (19) laptops with the latest version but all of them show the product is not activated.

I launched a client task Product Activation on those machines but unfortunately, it didn't work :(

On a side note, I also created the all in one file with the license and tested it on 2 machines.

The install worked perfectly except that one of them also lost its license while the first one (mine) still has it... really weird...?

Could you help me reactivate the license for these please? (What am I missing? I'm not an ESET expert so anything could have been wrong here lol)

Thanks!

Romain

Nb: I added the license to the client software install task later so this should not happen again, hopefully ;)

• ESET Staff
  • Solution

Hello @Romain Dheilly, even if you have just used the software install task, the application should work in a way, that it will keep the license (even if no license was selected in the software install task). I will check with the teams here, whether they have witnessed similar behavior from the other customers.

One of the things that I know tends to happen is, when customer accidentally installs EES and his license is for EEA, that will result in products being not activated, as the license and product do not match. When you have attempted the manual reactivation (vie the software install task), what was written in the task details / executions history? What was the reason for it to fail? 

Dear MichalJ,