memory leak on v10

chrcoluk

I have been running v10 for a while on both my laptop and desktop, overall I am happier with it than v8.

However on my laptop there has been a niggling memory leak, its slow but steady, it seems to leak about 100-200mB a day in resource usage, the leak cannot be recovered by closing programs, I have always had to reboot to recover the memory.

I started playing with the settings and found by disabling the new ransomware protection in HIPS settings has solved it.

I have an idea of why its happening, my laptop runs automated tools every minute which connect to my modem to collect stats and upload to a server, several scripts are run to collect and process this information, these tools have caused a lot of security programs to have problems, so I suspect nod32 is having issues with them, I am happy to share the tools with the developers if it helps them diagnose the problem.  My desktop doesnt seem to have the memory leak problem.

Edited by chrcoluk
fix typos

• Administrators

Do you mean that ekrn consumes more than 200-250 MB of RAM? I assume that especially ransomware protection may need more memory to store data about monitored processes so it's normal that memory consumption may rise over time a bit. Also information about scanned files is stored in RAM and the amount of the data grows a bit as files as scanned. How much memory ekrn consumes, let's say, after an hour since the system started with and without ransomware protection enabled?