Jump to content

brynn

Members
  • Content Count

    24
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Female
  • Location
    USA
  1. Well as I said before, I don't think you intend for it to be stealthy. But it seems that way to me. I might be just now finding out about this, but it represents a significant change to me. And one which I would have liked to know about beforehand. I just found this page: hxxp://help.eset.com/eis/11/en-US/idh_page_update.html Is that what this is? ESET is providing regular updates like Windows does? (omg) I just found Show All Modules. It looks like these updates have been coming through since....wow, 2 years! It looks like only the last few months they are coming so frequently. You know, it used to be the Update window allowed you to configure or initiate virus definition updates. But now it looks like it's been "re-purposed" to handle program updates. So far, I can't find where to handle the virus definition updates anymore. Where can I manage those updates now?
  2. Yes, that's exactly the startup program which was trying to be installed. I didn't think it was necessary to identify it for you, since it's only marginally relevant to my complaint. That part is not a mystery. The mystery, at least for me, is the reason for putting through upgrades - especially of this level of significance, which are coming through, without the knowledge or consent of the user. I don't understand the reason for being so stealthy about it -- especially for a security program! (yes, another one just tried to come through a couple of hours ago -- I haven't been counting, but I'd guess approx the 8th one, since I found out about it) (of course I have no idea what they are or what they do -- NO ONE does, except for developers and probably management) (so they're blocked, until I can find out what they are or do)
  3. Hi Friends, This is more of a complaint about a (new?) feature, than a suggestion. But I guess I could make a suggestion as a summary to the complaint. (Note that I have not read the previous 30 pages of messages in this topic. I was just referred here as the best place to provide feedback about the program.) I'm using ESET SS 11.0.159.0, Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit A few months ago, I got an alert from WinPatrol that something wanted to install a new startup program. Since I had not downloaded anything, and couldn't find any reason for it, I used WinPatrol to block it. Since it claimed to be from ESET (a commandline interface), I contacted ESET support to find out if it was legitimate. After an extended back and forth (via email), I was told about this feature which is installing program upgrades, apparently a little bit at a time, instead of just putting out a whole new version. (Advanced Setup > Update > Profiles > Update Mode > Application Update) I don't really know how long this has been going on, that I've been getting upgrades in bits and pieces, but this commandline interface is the first time I was aware of it. It's not necessarily this feature that I object to. It's (1) the fact that the option for it was enabled by default, without the knowledge or consent of the user, and (2) that these upgrade/updates are installing features without telling me what they are, or asking me if I want them. Effectively, ESET SS is behaving exactly like the malware which it is supposed to be protecting me against. Even after these few months, which I gave myself to let the idea sink in, I still find it shocking. In the moments when I get over the shock, the anger starts bubbling through. This is one of those times when I have to wonder "What were they thinking?" when they came up with this idea. And I guess the management which approved it must have been asleep at the switch! My suggestion would be, when you send through these updates, that you either send an email notification first, or some sort of notification pops up on the screen when the update comes through, so that the user is allowed to learn about what new features are being offered, and make a decision about whether they want to enable it. And then the upgrade/update does not get installed until the user OKs it. Of course, judging by the frequency these upgrade/updates are coming through (since I enabled the yes/no notification) this would be an incredibly disruptive to the work week. So that leads me to think the best idea would be to use the traditional way of upgrading a program. Just put out a whole new version, so users can read about them ahead of time, and know what they're getting and decide what to enable or disable, and choose when they want to install it. To my way of thinking, this is a much more reputable way of doing business with computer programs -- especially internet security suites -- than sneaking in features without the users' knowledge or consent. Note that I'm sure you don't intend to be sneaking, but that's what it looks like and feels like. Thanks for listening
×
×
  • Create New...