ESET slow down http traffic

lolzim
Go to solution Solved by dwomack,

This morning, my Mac started to be very very slow on web, but mails, ssh & co were not affected. Later I noticed that https traffic was not affected.

A few checks later, I replaced the -default- "80,8080,3128" in Prefs/Web protection/Ports used by HTTP with "8080,3128". Instantly, my web browsers came back fast; I repaired the web :)

ESET Cyber Security 6.1.12.2

OS X 10.11.3

Latest versions of Chrome, Firefox and Safari

Hope you will fix this fast, since I am no longer protected.

Best regards

Lol Zimmerli

SysCo

I have just raised a ticket. I think I have been having the same issue from today on two Macs in my home. I have had to uninstall Eset Cyber Sec to restore internet connectivity.

As you say, email is OK, some sites work, but sites like BBC and SkyNews become virtually inaccessible. My OneDrive sync also hangs/goes very slowly. 

I had the same experience and removed Cyber security from my mac. I had contact with Dutch support and they told me that they were aware of the problem and busy solving it. No estimate was given about delivery...

Same here, the best thing is that the ESET site is one of the ones that runs slow!

Disabling web access protection doesn't help, the only thing that does is an uninstall of the ESET software.

I'm beginning to loose the will to live with this software.

I couldn't even reply on this forum with ESET installed!

Edited by BobTheDOg

• Former ESET Employees
  • Solution

An updated Internet Protection Module was released earlier this morning, which addresses the issue. We've updated our Alert which states that this update should be pushed through automatically through the normal update process.

If you'd like to update now, you should clear your update cache and update using the steps here: hxxp://support.eset.com/kb3173/

Again, we are sorry for the disruption this caused. If you have any other questions or concerns, please let us know.