Jump to content

Updating Clients Via ERAC


Go to solution Solved by Marcos,

Recommended Posts

I am trying to update my clients via ERAC.  I went through and created an Installation Package.  The type is an "Eset Security Products Package".  I grabbed the package for both 32-bit and 64-bit systems.  In the command line associated with the install, I have /qn REBOOT="ReallySuppress".  It was my understanding that this would be a "quiet" install, and would not force a reboot.  I tested the installation on one machine, and while the install went smoothly, and didn't FORCE a reboot, it still generated a popup that says, "ESET Endpoint Antivirus requires your attention".  It also says "A computer restart is recommended".

 

Now while this obviously isn't forcing a reboot, I assumed that the command line options chosen would suppress any mention of a reboot to my users.  Is there a step I'm missing, command line tag that I need to insert, etc., to force ESET to not produce any sort of reboot popup?

 

Thanks in advance for any help provided.

post-1213-0-76490900-1373384718_thumb.jpg

Link to post
Share on other sites

In my opinion this is not really a bad thing to have a nag screen to get users to reboot at some point. Otherwise the system will not be fully utilizing the new configuration. You really wouldn't want a user to go weeks or months without utilizing all resources properly. Many users will likely ignore the warning anyway.

Edited by Mr. Natural
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Administrators
  • Solution

The command line switches control the behavior of the msi installer, not the program itself. After upgrading to a newer version, a notification suggesting a computer restart is always displayed in the main window. Until the computer is restarted, old binaries will be used, hence a restart should be performed as soon as possible.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Mr. Natural - I 100% agree with you, but my users will wait days/weeks/months to reboot, if they ever do.  I have a policy in place that reboots their computers once a week, so I'm not too worried about that.  Honestly, my main concern regarding disabling that message is my users will freak out when they see it, and I'll get tons of calls asking about it, and I'd just rather not waste my time answering this question over and over.

 

Marcos - That's kind of what I figured.  I was just hoping I could disable that message.

 

Thanks for the responses.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...