Hi

Newbie here,

I wonder what does this result mean?

Please see the attached file

Thank you very much in advance for any information you can provide me

Came

post-7363-0-61796800-1431727485_thumb.jpg

Edited by camelia

The master boot record (MBR) is a part of your disks. It contains some information about the partitions on the disk and the bootloader.

As this bootloader can also be modified by malware ESET can scan the MBR.

As for the issue with the "error opening" message - this generally means that ESS can't access the file (or data) and can't scan it. This can have many reasons - e.g. a file is blocked by a process which is actually using it.

In this case this may be because ESS didn't have the necessary rights to read the MBR. So maybe scanning as administrator can prevent the message from appearing and everything will be scanned.

Additionally it seems you're using an older version of ESS. As new versions of ESS contain enhanced security features I highly recommend you to upgrade to the latest version.

Edited by rugk

• Most Valued Members

you can use your existing license to the new version.

also the "error opening" it could also mean that the files are used/locked by a windows or another process and thus they can't be opened. stay safe that they are always scanned during startup or shutdown of the pc.

Yes hiberfil.sys (for hibernate) and pagefile.sys (for paging of course, it's a swap file) are usually blocked by Windows.

However these files are not scanned at shutdown or startup - or if ESS tries it they are surely blocked like they are if you d an on-demand scan.

Edited by rugk

The master boot record (MBR) is a part of your disks. It contains some information about the partitions on the disk and the bootloader.

As this bootloader can also be modified by malware ESET can scan the MBR.