EBA Console issues

j-gray

I've been working with support for around 8 months (#00521603) and haven't had much luck with two issues. Posting here in hopes of more visibility and hopefully some options.

1. Frequently, activated devices in EP Console are not found in EBA Console at all (neither device name, nor seat name). They are clearly activated and are licensed
    • Is there a way to force these clients to update in EBA Console?
  2. OS X devices consume multiple licenses when upgraded
    • Many times after and upgrade of either AV or EI Connector, the OS X clients consume a license for the previous version and the new version. So we'll frequently see an OS X device with a 7.3.x license and a 7.4.x license at the same time. So we frequently run out of licenses when upgrading. This is not an issue on Windows devices.

Regarding #2, support indicated they were able to reproduce the license issue when upgrading from v6 to v7 and reportedly fixed this for this specific case. However, we found that the problem exists for other upgrade paths, as well, including the EI Connector.

It would make sense that this license issue is not version specific, nonetheless, support wants us to collect logs during the upgrade process. Unfortunately, this is not possible because 1) it is not consistently reproducible and we have no way of knowing what workstation might exhibit this issue, 2) there is no way to remotely start and stop log file creation to capture the process. Interactive login is required for log capture, which is not an option for remote sites and production systems, and 3) frequently systems can't be found in EBA Console so test cases are even more limited as we can't see what licenses are consumed.

I've presented multiple examples of the issue (see below), yet the onus for resolution seems to always be placed on the end-user to reproduce the issue, log the results, provide the log files, etc.