Jump to content

OS X error - forking process does not exists


Recommended Posts

After upgrading to latest version, OS X agent is showing multiple errors per second:

0x700000bf5000 Error: Failed forking process 823(process exists)(forking process does not exists)

It's throwing these for multiple processes. It does seem to be communicating regularly with the EEI server, however.

Any ideas what's causing this?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • ESET Moderators

Hello @j-gray,

most of the reasons to see such should have been fixed in the 1.7 so maybe some of them slipped slipped through...

Can you send me the full log via a private message so I can have it checked for you?

Peter

P_EEI-8600

Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, Peter Randziak said:

Hello @j-gray,

most of the reasons to see such should have been fixed in the 1.7 so maybe some of them slipped slipped through...

Can you send me the full log via a private message so I can have it checked for you?

Peter

P_EEI-8600

This is a new connector install (upgrade) on my system, prior to deploying the connector en-masse. I'll send the log files. Thanks for looking.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@Peter Randziak I've uninstalled and reinstalled the latest connector several times, but logs are full of these "Error: Failed forking process..."

The most frequent error code now is 0x70000e6f8000.

I'm also getting this one: "0x70000e6f8000 Error: License check failed. Failed to process a request to/from ESET Endpoint Security/Antivirus. RUN_LOOP_ERROR RUN_LOOP_TIMEOUT (2)"

Seems to be an issue in conjunction with v7 antivirus.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm also getting this one: "0x70000e6f8000 Error: License check failed. Failed to process a request to/from ESET Endpoint Security/Antivirus. RUN_LOOP_ERROR RUN_LOOP_TIMEOUT (2)"

I should clarify; I understand this error is due to an issue with v7. However, it puts the client into a critical state, as product activation fails.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • ESET Moderators
On 4/14/2022 at 12:54 AM, j-gray said:

This is a new connector install (upgrade) on my system, prior to deploying the connector en-masse. I'll send the log files. Thanks for looking.

Thank you for the log files, I opened a ticket with the dev team to have it checked.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • ESET Moderators

The error "RUN_LOOP_ERROR RUN_LOOP_TIMEOUT " is known and should be fixed in the 1.9 release.

 

On 4/18/2022 at 5:39 PM, j-gray said:

Error: License check failed.

When it comes to this error, it should be fixed in next hot fix release. (P_EEI-11289)

As you can see in the logs, the events are being sent successfully to EI server despite the error...

 

 

I apologize for the apologize for the inconvenience caused by those issues.

Peter

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • ESET Moderators

Hello @j-gray,

one more thing 

On 4/18/2022 at 5:32 PM, j-gray said:

Failed to process a request to/from ESET Endpoint Security/Antivirus. RUN_LOOP_ERROR RUN_LOOP_TIMEOUT (2)"

This message is stemming probably from the network layer.

Is it persistent?

 

It might be also caused by the connector crashes...

 

Peter

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi @Peter Randziak Thanks for the info. I believe the license check/run_loop error only occurs at service start.

The 'failed forking process' errors occur in large amounts, also only with EEA V7 installed.

It's rather odd. I see connector events logged normally, then at some random point, "0x700009549000 Info: ESET Inspect integration with Endpoint has been successfully disabled". Immediately after wich, I see a ton for 'failed forking process errors'

Then at some random point, I see "0x700009549000 Info: ESET Inspect integration with Endpoint has been successfully enabled" and event logging continues normally.

I'm not sure what is causing the connector integration to become disabled and enabled.

Again, we do not see this with the latest connector and EEA V7.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • ESET Moderators

Hello @j-gray,

12 hours ago, j-gray said:

Again, we do not see this with the latest connector and EEA V7.

I guess the V7 is a type and you meant V6, right? As based on the previous info it seems that the v.7 is causing the issues and v.6 is working without them, can you please confirm it?

Peter

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, Peter Randziak said:

Hello @j-gray,

I guess the V7 is a type and you meant V6, right? As based on the previous info it seems that the v.7 is causing the issues and v.6 is working without them, can you please confirm it?

Peter

Yes, apologies -you are correct. I'm unable to edit the post, but it should read: 

Again, we do not see this with the latest connector and EEA V6.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...