Jump to content

Sharing uses 2 licences not 1


ForceRecon
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hello there,

In the MYESET portal when you share a license it states that the person got your request and then accepted it.. By doing that is shows that 2 licenses were used for one person.  I have 4 licenses and I want to share it to another person and I also want to upgrade my PC. I don't want to upgrade my PC in fear that at that point it will say I am using 4 licenses and not 3 and then I won't be able to share my one license with my friend since I have them all used up, but I don't..

I hope that somehow makes sense..

I cannot delete the invitation or the acceptance of the other person. Basically it should send out the invitation and when the person accepts it mark that as a license, once the person connects that invitation acceptance should change to say connected.. thus only one license..

Anyone know how to fix this?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Most Valued Members
4 hours ago, ForceRecon said:

Hello there,

In the MYESET portal when you share a license it states that the person got your request and then accepted it.. By doing that is shows that 2 licenses were used for one person.  I have 4 licenses and I want to share it to another person and I also want to upgrade my PC. I don't want to upgrade my PC in fear that at that point it will say I am using 4 licenses and not 3 and then I won't be able to share my one license with my friend since I have them all used up, but I don't..

I hope that somehow makes sense..

I cannot delete the invitation or the acceptance of the other person. Basically it should send out the invitation and when the person accepts it mark that as a license, once the person connects that invitation acceptance should change to say connected.. thus only one license..

Anyone know how to fix this?

You should be able to activate/deactivate devices from License Management in myESET, but also before upgrading your PC , you can uninstall ESET from Windows , it will deactivate itself once you remove it with the uninstaller , and then re-install it when you upgrade your Windows.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think this photo might help out.  The shared person is the same email address for both.  As you can see I have 4 seats.. 2 are being used by one person for a single machine.  It has something to do with the portal and there is no way to remove one without removing the other since they are both the same email address. Only option is to withdraw. Now, if someone from ESET or otherwise can say " OH, once you get that activated one you can withdraw the other one" well fine.. But I am just not sure what to do at this point.

If I use the last license on my other PC then I can't share the 4th seat with my other friend. There will be no licenses/seats left to share.

https://imgur.com/1UKuXE1https://imgur.com/1UKuXE1

Thanks for the reply and your help.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Most Valued Members
2 hours ago, ForceRecon said:

I think this photo might help out.  The shared person is the same email address for both.  As you can see I have 4 seats.. 2 are being used by one person for a single machine.  It has something to do with the portal and there is no way to remove one without removing the other since they are both the same email address. Only option is to withdraw. Now, if someone from ESET or otherwise can say " OH, once you get that activated one you can withdraw the other one" well fine.. But I am just not sure what to do at this point.

If I use the last license on my other PC then I can't share the 4th seat with my other friend. There will be no licenses/seats left to share.

https://imgur.com/1UKuXE1https://imgur.com/1UKuXE1

Thanks for the reply and your help.

I believe an ESET staff can properly help you with this issue more than me

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Please don't respond to this unless you are an admin or moderator or support staff.  I have been waiting patiently for almost a week now and still no reply from staff I think it's because I am getting bumped lower.. Who knows.. Thanks for doing the support.. It is appreciated. I really need to get this solved. I would prefer not to have to call.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Most Valued Members
1 hour ago, ForceRecon said:

Please don't respond to this unless you are an admin or moderator or support staff.  I have been waiting patiently for almost a week now and still no reply from staff I think it's because I am getting bumped lower.. Who knows.. Thanks for doing the support.. It is appreciated. I really need to get this solved. I would prefer not to have to call.

Hello if no one is responding staff wise you could try and create a support ticket via the website as this will always be responded to

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I contacted support.. They in turn had me contact the online support.. They connected to my machine and then went to the portal and were stumped. They deleted my account and we re-created it and still now showing since the other person was lost in the deletion that I am using 2 licenses even though everywhere in the portal it only shows one device. I have to be honest here. This is really messed up. I can't figure it out, they can't figure it out and the end result was just wait and see if it is a syncing problem with their servers. I already did all those things over 10 days ago. They even reissued a new license before the account was recreated. Still 2 of 4 licenses used and only 1 device protected.

I certainly hope they get this fixed. It's a real bummer paying for something and basically you can't get a few items to work and not even the information on their servers is correct about your account.

You can resolve this, or close it, but I am getting to the point where I might have to look for something better.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrators

Please drop me a private message with:
- your public license ID in the form of XXX-XXX-XXX
- your my.eset.com email address.

I'll ask developers to have a look at your posts here and advise.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hey Marcos, seems like they fixed the portal. Now the numbers are correct and 3 devices were added properly so far. I was told not to share from within the portal but to give a friend my license number instead. Does that still stand? Also, once a person accepts should I see them as protected or just accepted?

Thanks for your help.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrators

Yes, I was informed by a colleague but wanted to check it out myself first before I let you know. Sharing licenses should be done through the portal as you did, otherwise you'd lose control over your license and the other person could give it to anyone, resulting in license overuse.

The issue occurred probably because something went wrong when you removed the previous account which had the license shared. We had to move the shared license from the removed account to this one.

Quote

Also, once a person accepts should I see them as protected or just accepted?

You should see "Invitation accepted" and "Activated" after the user has used the license for activation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...