Secure Browser: Remote Control Warning

I have been using Eset Internet Security for a couple of years, but this message was new to me:

When I opened the secure browser, I got a warning message like this: "This computer is remotely controlled. Using internet banking may be unsafe. In case you use this software by pupose, you can safely ignore this message. The remote access software is: svchost.exe" (translated by myself, so the original wording will likely be quite different.)

I am not aware of my machine being remotely controlled, but I have seen svchost.exe running in the past as well. So I wonder what to make from this message - is there a threat to me? How to find out?

• Administrators

Svchost.exe is a standard system process, not necessarily malware. Couldn't it be that you are connected to the machine via RDP?

Thank you for this quick answer.

No, I am not connected by RDP, I am working directly at the machine (with keyboard, mouse, LAN and monitor attached).

2 hours ago, Chance said:

When I opened the secure browser, I got a warning message like this: "This computer is remotely controlled. Using internet banking may be unsafe. In case you use this software by pupose, you can safely ignore this message. The remote access software is: svchost.exe"

Post a screen shot of this.

I can find no reference to such an alert generated from Banking and Payment Protection. I am also wondering how it would be able to detect such activity. In normal operation, B&PP opens another browser instance in a locked down mode via an Eset process. The message being displayed seems to indicate that svchost.exe is initiating the display of locked down browser instance.

Edited by itman

(1) My immediate concern is gone. After a reboot, the secure browser behaves as usual.