Question about ESET Firewall & rules

Hello,

im using ESET Internet Security and i checked the firewall settings and found this

"Also evaluate rules from Windows Firewall"
In automatic mode, allow also incoming traffic allowed by rules from Windows Firewall, unless explicitly blocked by ESET rules.

so i was wondering if this is a potential flaw because i recently saw videos of malware tests with only Windows Firewall/Defender where it would successfully execute code that adds a lot of different rules to the Windows Firewall and downaload a bunch other stuff. If ESET allows everything that is allowed through a rule in Windows Firewall the same thing could happen if u use ESET or exploit other existing rules maybe. Or am i wrong about that im not an expert at all but im very interested to know how it works and if i should disable it. :)

Also i would like to know if it is a good idea to set my network profile for my normal home connection to "public network" instead of "private network".  I always thought if i go with "public network" profile the security would be better and would use stronger settings. Is that true does it provide any security improve even if it is minor ? I never had a problem with it.

Thanks in advance
Computerjul

Edited by Computerjul

49 minutes ago, Computerjul said:

"Also evaluate rules from Windows Firewall"
In automatic mode, allow also incoming traffic allowed by rules from Windows Firewall, unless explicitly blocked by ESET rules.

This applies to existing Win firewall rules pertaining to inbound network traffic unless specifically blocked by an existing Eset firewall rule.

49 minutes ago, Computerjul said:

so i was wondering if this is a potential flaw because i recently saw videos of malware tests with only Windows Firewall/Defender where it would successfully execute code that adds a lot of different rules to the Windows Firewall and downaload a bunch other stuff.