Problems excluding files from detection.

TheDeeGee

I'm trying to exclude a couple of unattended installers from being detected and deleted, but without luck so far.

I have added the said files in the exclusion lists at 4 different locations, in Detection Engine, Real-Time and HIPS. But whenever i copy and paste the file to another location it get's caught and deleted. I even added the SHA1 HASHes, but that doesn't seem to work either. The only option seems to be disabling the entire Antivirus while doing backups and moving files around, which is not a good solution.

I have been using ESET NOD32 Antivirus for almost 15 years and never had this issue before.

• Administrators

Nothing has changed in exclusions recently. Have you tried excluding the detected PUA by the detection name? I assume the problem is that it's a file in an installer that is detected, ie. excluding the hash of the whole installer cannot work.

I tried adding the PUA to the exclusions, but then the files still get deleted when copied elsewhere.

The PUA in question is "Win32/Packed.AutoIt.UG". It must have been added to the database recently, because it never acted like this.

The only solution i found so far is adding every single location i often copy these files to to the exclusion list.

• Administrators
13 minutes ago, TheDeeGee said:

I just wish it was possible to exclude a single file from the entire scanning process, regardless of location on the system.

That's possible by excluding a file by hash. Please provide logs collected with ESET Log Collector.

Add file hashes to installers you wish to exclude Eset real-time scanning exclusion as shown below:

Eset_Hash.png.3bc51eb46ca4583d5c3d7976b61341f3.png