Deploying ERA to MAC computer not working, goes wrong during the terminal installation.

Hello,

To say i'm inexperienced at this would be an understatement, I've been trying to deploy the Eset Remote Administrator Agent to the MAC but it keeps giving me an error, I have no idea what it means. This is my first time using a MAC (took me fifteen minutes to get to the terminal) so I'm sure it's obvious to some, hope you could help me. I'm using Eset Endpoint Security 7.2 and Remote Administrator Agent 6.4.  If you need any more information just let me know!

Aantekening 2020-01-23 171943.png

• ESET Staff

Unfortunately errors is not very clear - most probably there is some kind of "escaping" issue in installer script, but might be also incompatibility with recent maOS versions.

Just to be sure, are you aware that ERA 6.4 is no longer in support (= it reached it's EOL) and such old ERA Agent won't even run on current macOS 10.15 "Catalina"?

In order to diagnose where exactly installer fails, executing it as:

bash -x EraAgentInstaller.sh

might be helpful -> it will be much more verbose and it should be clear where the problem is. As I mentioned, most probable issue is that command hdiutil is called with parameters that are not properly escaped (= maybe some path contains space and it is not handled properly).

In case it won't help, as an alternative, manual installation might be solution. Standalone installer in "dmg" format has graphical wizard, where certain connectivity details will be required, as is hostname of ERA server and certificates required for connections.

@MartinK apologies for the late reply, thanks for the command. However, after I posted this thread I wasn't aware of the fact that 6.4 wasn't being supported with macOS 10.15 Catalina so I guess I know what the problem is, I should probably be looking at a migration to the most recent version before I even try anything else :).