Jump to content
fabioquadros_

Firewall: An application has been modified and is now trying to communicate with the network.

Recommended Posts

Just received the same notice, I would like to know what it means.

Without thinking carefully I chose to keep the rules, but I don't know if it was good or bad.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have a firewall rule created for egui.exe which has been modified (e.g. after upgrade) and at the same time modification of trusted applications is not allowed automatically:

image.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do you have custom firewall rules created? Do you have the above setting disabled? If you are unsure, please provide me with logs collected with ESET Log Collector.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess it must have been something caused by the last update of the program, since I have the firewall in automatic mode and I never change anything in the firewall configuration.

Edited by Hijin25

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The one that will enter the advanced configuration of ESET and choose the option to restore the program default values, does not affect the records requested?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm sorry, I worried when I realized that I didn't know if by clicking on "keep rules" I had made a mistake and it was my first reaction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This issue should be fixed by the Firewall module version 1391.1
Expected release on Pre-release update channel is the next week.

The issue is triggered by the update of the program.
If you clicked to keep the rule button in the dialog, the dialog should not show anymore.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got the same notice and I clicked keep rules.  What I want to know is if that was alright to do or did I put my self at risk of anything?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Purpleroses said:

What I want to know is if that was alright to do or did I put my self at risk of anything?

If its a trusted app and one you know that was recently updated, it's OK to keep existing permissive rules. For example and most frequently, equi.exe, that was replaced as part of the ver. 12.2.29 upgrade.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...