Ransomware

I have been using ESET IS for the last 5 years and have an active subscription till 2021. It's the lightest AV out there with stellar detection, excellent firewall and web filter along with a really light footprint. However ESET does miss out on certain features that other competitive AV's like BitDefender, Kaspersky, Trend Micro, Norton, Mcafee provide. ESET has zero dynamic protection since the HIPS in automatic mode is useless. Imo I think it would be a lot better if ESET can provide a good Behaviour Monitor instead of the HIPS(the BB ESET has now is in hibernation mode, it rarely works). Another very important feature could be the Protected Folders option where the user can decide which folders to protect against ransomware.

• Administrators
2 hours ago, wraith said:

I have been using ESET IS for the last 5 years and have an active subscription till 2021. It's the lightest AV out there with stellar detection, excellent firewall and web filter along with a really light footprint. However ESET does miss out on certain features that other competitive AV's like BitDefender, Kaspersky, Trend Micro, Norton, Mcafee provide. ESET has zero dynamic protection since the HIPS in automatic mode is useless. Imo I think it would be a lot better if ESET can provide a good Behaviour Monitor instead of the HIPS(the BB ESET has now is in hibernation mode, it rarely works). Another very important feature could be the Protected Folders option where the user can decide which folders to protect against ransomware.

Please check https://www.eset.com/int/about/technology and see how many of ESET's features are missing in competitive AVs :)

HIPS itself is the basement for:
- Self-defense
- Ransomware Shield
- Advanced Memory Scanner
- Exploit Blocker
- Deep Behavioral Inspection
image.png

Plus non-HIPS feature Advanced Machine Learning (v13 beta):

image.png