Jump to content

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

EMartinez

How to disable NOD32 free upgrade notification

Recommended Posts

Hi there! I have a client running EAV v10.1.245 on their workstations. The antivirus software is configured to exclude the detection on several folders located on a server's mapped network drive, which contain the sales, stock and administration software used by the client. The executables on the server share are clean, but when the users on the workstation update to v11 these files are detected as potentially dangerous software and the whole company loses access to their system until I restore the deleted files from a backup, revert the installation on the upgraded workstation to v10 and import the XML file with the excluded server shares. I already called phone support and made a ticket, but I'm still waiting for the e-mail confirmation and in the meantime another user upgraded to v11 and the antivirus deleted those executables, so I'd like to know if there's a way to deny the software upgrade to v11 and stop the "Free upgrade available" windows from popping up before another user make a mess with the server files. I already found an option to disable program updates under the "Updates" option in the advanced settings menu, but the popup still appears. Is there some other setting I should be aware of?

 

Thanks in advance!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Detection is independent not only from the version of the product but also from products per se since the engine and modules are shared across all products with the exception of products for Android.

Please gather logs with ELC when v10 is installed and another set of logs after upgrade to v11. If exclusions worked in v10, they must also work in v11.

Although disabling product update is possible, we don't recommend doing so or the product won't upgrade to a newer version that may provide improved protection and performance besides other improvements and fixes. To me it appears to be an issue that we should be able to pinpoint easily.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the reply! Still waiting for phone support to call, hehe! I'm planning on updating the workstations as soon as the company's programmer returns and we can unpack the executables so the antivirus won't delete them, but that will be on July 30, so I need to disable until then the option to update to v11 through the upgrade window so the users don't update it until then. Will it be enough if I disable this option? I'm already running v11 on this computer to create the .XML files to import settings on the client's workstations, but I believe the settings on v10 are basically the same.

 

Thanks!

Sin título.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! Some workstations kept asking me to update, even with the "Application update" option disabled, so I thought I should disable the notification option too! I'll give a try to both options disabled and keep you posted!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...