HIPS default rules

novice

The question of being able to list the internal rules has come up previously. Lack of response from Eset in this regard indicates they have chosen to keep the rules private for security and proprietary reasons I assume. Eset is pretty "tight lipped" in regards to publicly posting details on their internal security mechanisms. 

Additionally, save yourself the effort of trying to read the associated .bin file. It is undecipherable to other than the Eset software developers. 

Edited by itman

It's a pity that Eset makes a secret of it. How can it then please protect the policy is very difficult to understand at ESET

10 hours ago, Marcos said:

There are no default rules

So, are you saying that HIPS is just an empty box, waiting to be filled with customized rules?????

I have been using ESET for almost 5 years now on 3 pc , with HIPS set on "Smart mode", yet I never got an alert HIPS related , unless I created a custom rule.

The consensus here on this forum is that HIPS is another layer of defense, and if a malware is not detected by this and that, for sure is going to be blocked by HIPS.

Really disappointed to hear that in fact HIPS doesn't do too much in fighting malwares. 

• Administrators

HIPS is a fundamental component that provides information about system operations to other HIPS-based protection modules, such as Self-defense, Advanced Memory Scanner, Exploit Blocker and Ransomware shield. Therefore disabling HIPS would subsequently reduce detection and protection capabilities of the product. Simple HIPS rules cannot work without producing false positives.

28 minutes ago, Marcos said:

Simple HIPS rules cannot work without producing false positives.

So  , if HIPS is strictly used internally, why make visible and accessible to users???

Why offer the option to disable it???? 

This creates a false sense of security (ESET has HIPS but XXXX antivirus doesn't)

Edited by claudiu