Jump to content

"Your system is exposed to risk" notification on upgrade


BenjaminMH
 Share

Recommended Posts

In Windows 10, after an upgrade to Endpoint AV 6.6 has been completed, users receive a toast notification with a red X that states "Your system is exposed to risk" that stays on the screen for ~5 seconds. Clicking the notification brings up the ESET GUI with a message that the product has been upgraded and a restart is required. 

Is there any way to make this notification less intrusive? In previous versions, it would be a yellow warning pop up that says "ESET requires your attention" which is generally less alarming. It's harder to do silent upgrades in the background when it triggers an alarming message. 

Thanks for any thoughts. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • ESET Staff

Hello, this change of behavior was done due to a slightly bigger change that happened under the hood. Between Endpoint 6.5 & 6.6 we have switched underlying technology of our product modules, to new which are based on .dll´s. Those are more effective, ensure shorter start times, and in general bring a decrease of system impact in 10s of %. However, during the upgrade, we have to de-register old drivers, and register a new ones. Product won´t work properly (you won´t be fully protected) unless a computer restart is done. 

In case you have an managed environment (via ERA6), you can disable displaying of this message to local users, not to scare them. However, the machine will appear "red" in ERA, with the corresponding warning, and it´s strongly recommended that you do the restart as soon as possible.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This is helpful, thank you. 

I assume you're referring to Policy Settings>User Interface>Application Statuses>General and disabling showing of "A computer restart is required?"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...