ESET rank & competition

Clark_10

Hi,

I've been using ESET for almost 9 yrs now and I personally have never had any problems.

I cant even remember but I've probably upgraded sequentially from version 3 and currently run ESET SS 10. Infact I've never really had to raise any support or even come to the forum for any support.

Just wanted some opinions because over the last 2-3 yrs I've seen a lot of Reviews of various Magazines/IT forums/Online Tech sites etc consistently lower ESET ranking to the point that some1 like fatsecurity.com rank it 19. Of course, we wouldn't expect everyone on the internet to have the same opinion but if you look at Kaspersky, its always there in top 3 on all sites. Price wise, ESET was always higher and I didn't mind that but is there anyone who can explain why its rank is just tanking.

Mostly, I've felt it was always light-weight, resource efficient but reviews are now rating others as far better, can all of that be true ?

• Administrators

Tests are tests and reality is often different. There's nothing like 100% threat detection that you see in tests which are always performed on a very limited set of samples out of which ESET users have never encountered. Besides the score and numbers, you should also be familiar with the methodology and understand how tests were performed and how they are relevant to everyday use. E.g. measuring the time of installation of a particular software; even if it takes a few seconds longer with an AV but all subsequent scans are extremely quick, who cares. Also ESET scans installation packages of popular apps thoroughly while some other vendors skip a lot of files inside. Here you trade off performance for security, although the chance of infection in popular software installers should be low.

ESET scans installation packages of popular apps thoroughly while some other vendors skip a lot of files inside. Here you trade off performance for security