Simple Date Change Renders Smart Security Disabled

As a programmer I often have to change the date on my PC to test out the logic of certain scripts and calendar events. (Of course I change it straight back after I've compiled, executed and tested the programs I'm working on).

However, I've noticed a major flaw in ESET Smart Security 10. Setting the date to (for example) 1/1/2050 renders "Real-time file system protection" completely disabled. It doesn't matter if your connected or disconnected from the internet before you change the date. It doesn't matter if you immediately change the date back and/or reboot.

The only way to re-enabled "Real time protection" is to completely uninstall and reinstall ESET Smart Security.

What is the world possibly coming to, when a SIMPLE batch file (for example) which changes the date to some point in the future:

IE Script:

C:\>DATE 1/1/2050

Can render an apparently "Award Winning" anti virus security suite's "Real Time Protection" completely disabled and leave users possibly open to massive virus infection with any event AFTER this simple script?

Absolutely appalled.

• Administrators

I was unable to reproduce it. Changing the system date to the future will alert the user that the license has expired but the product remains fully functional and continues to download updates.

By the way, I was unable to permanently change the system date. Windows sets it back despite the "Set time automatically" being off.

If ESET stops updating after actual license expiration and is not renewed, Windows will activate Windows Defender protection instead of ESET. However, this does not seem to happen after shifting the system date.

I can verify it is an issue.

The following was performed on Win 10 x64 1607, Smart Security v10 .390. Warning: The following will "trash" your Eset installation and you will have to uninstall and re-install to get Eset working again.

1. Open an admin command prompt window.