Whether the "Show bult-in rules" box is ticked or not does not affect rules in any way; the setting affects only the display of default rules. Default rules that are enabled are applied regardless of the state of the box.
If a particular communication is blocked, then there's no permissive rule that would allow it. You can use the Firewall troubleshooting wizard on a client to get a list of recently blocked communications where you can allow the desired ones with one click. Alternatively you can use learning mode to create permissive rules automatically. Afterwards review the rules, remove the unwanted ones and apply the desired ones via a policy to other computers as well.